Peak & Northern Footpaths Society (est.1894)

Officers & trustees

The word "Officers" in the title refers to the formal offices of President, Chairman, Vice Chairman, Treasurer and Secretary. Quite separately, the society has operational roles which, for historical reasons only, have the word "Officer" in their titles: Faults Officer, Signpost Officer, Area Officers.

President (recently retired)

David Bratt
David Bratt PNFS President (recently retired), and a former chair and trustee of the society. He continues his role as a Footpath Inspector.

The president is not a trustee, and constitutionally may not be a trustee.

About the trustees

The trustees are personally accountable (to the Charity Commission and the courts) for compliance with the rules which apply to the society. They must always act in the best interests of the society and without deriving any personal benefit from what they do. They must do their best to ensure the society can and does continue to pursue only its "objects" (set out in its constitution) indefinitely, impartially and in a proper manner. Theirs is the problem of ensuring that all the society's volunteers act only in ways consistent with that aim and that the society's financial and other resources are managed and applied prudently.

Additionally the trustees take overall responsibility for the day to day running of the society.

Former Chairman and Trustee

David Hurrell
Former Chairman and Trustee
David Hurrell, (recently deceased) in addition to being a trustee, was PNFS Chairman. He undertook the duties required of the chairman by the constitution, and the many other customary duties of the chairman.

Treasurer and Trustee

Paul Easthope
Treasurer and Trustee
Paul Easthope, in addition to being a trustee, is PNFS Treasurer with responsibility for all financial matters including all payments and expenses. Paul also draws up our monthly management accounts and works closely with our financial examiner to produce our annual statements in accordance with Charity Commission guidelines.

Other Trustees

Jenny Allen
Trustee and Courts
and Inquiries Officer
Mel Bale
Membership Secretary
and Webmaster
Dave Brown
Trustee, Secretary
and Office Manager
David Gosling
Trustee and Footpath
Inspection Co-ordinator
David Morton
Trustee and Signpost Officer

Related pages

Constitution & policies Teams Area officers More about the PNFS

Page title:Officers & trustees
If you'd like a reply, please include your contact details.
Your message is being sent.
Your message has been sent. Thank you.
Message sending failed - sorry. As an alternative you might like to try the Contact the webmaster form.